Where to find SolidWorks Simulation Tutorials



A recent sales promotion has helped many new customers obtain a license of SolidWorks Premium, which includes lots of great Add-in functionality beyond SolidWorks Standard and SolidWorks Professional. Perhaps the most popular is SolidWorks Simulation, which provides full finite element analysis (FEA) capabilities for linear static (“stress/strain”) simulation. Also, those of you on a “floating” Network License may have access to a Simulation license. But many of you might not know how or where to get started with Simulation.
Where are the SolidWorks Tutorials? Where is the Help?
Well, Step 0 is you need to make sure SolidWorks Premium is installed! If it is not, then you won’t be able to do Step 1. If you need help installing (or modifying your current installation), then contact your CAD Administrator, or CAPINC customers on subscription can of course contact our Technical Support staff.
Step 1:  Turn on the “SolidWorks Simulation” Add-in. Launch SolidWorks and navigate to the Tools > Add-Ins… menu:
SolidWorks Add-Ins drop down menu
SolidWorks Simulation Tutorials
Check the left-hand box to turn on Simulation in this session. Checking the right-hand box will turn it on in every session from now on, which if you’re using a Network License may anger your coworkers who might want access to the license that you’ll keep grabbing!
Step 2: Open a Part or Assembly file. You will not see any Simulation user interface (icons or toolbars) unless a model file is open. It can be a new empty file, as long as you have one open.
SolidWorks Simulation Tutorials
Step 3: Browse the pull-down menus (usually hidden beneath the SolidWorks logo) to Simulation > Help > Tutorials. You could also browse instead to Help > SolidWorks Simulation > Tutorials. As long as the Add-In is on, and a model file is open, you will be able to see both of these menu options.

SolidWorks Simulation > Help > Tutorials SolidWorks Help Menu > Simulation > Tutorials
(You’ll also see in this sub-menu the link to the Help Topics, as well as a link to Verification Problems and NAFEMS Benchmarks. The Verification Problems and Benchmarks provide examples where you can validate Simulation results against theory to prove to yourself and others what we have known for years: Our solvers are excellent and accurate.)
I recommend getting started with the Tutorials. Similar to SolidWorks CAD Tutorials, they divide the screen into two regions and give you easy click-by-click instructions for opening files and going through some steps to acquaint yourself with basic Simulation functionality. SolidWorks Premium includes Simulation Statics. Incidentally, SolidWorks Premium also includes Motion Simulation, but that’s for another post on another day…

After completing a few Tutorials, your next step is to try some of your own simple examples. Then if you decide you want to start using Simulation for your design work, you should attend a Simulation course at CAPINC. We offer a 3-day class for designers to become productive with SolidWorks Simulation. We begin with the essentials of FEA and end with the nonlinearities of large-displacement solutions! (It sounds complicated, but it’s just a check-box option!) The 3rd day of class covers the additional study types available with Simulation Professional (Thermal, Frequency, Buckling, Fatigue, and Drop Test).


Read More Add your Comment 0 comments


SolidWorks Simulation Professional Fatigue






My company does not want to upgrade to EPDM; but they want to create a vaulting system which will index all files. I have been researching programs such as DBWorks, Conisio… I’m looking for comparable programs, or any extra info would be appreciated. Statement below is info from my VAR about SolidWorks Explorer and our 64 bit’s ~As is mentioned in many Microsoft forums, this is a Microsoft Windows limitation. Mapped, network locations cannot be indexed by Windows Search on Windows Vista x64 or Windows 7 x64, therefore they cannot be added to SolidWorks Explorer's search paths list. To workaround this limitation, you can make the files stored in the mapped, network location available offline. Files that are made available offline can be indexed by Windows Search and can therefore be added to the search files list since they will be stored locally. Search the Windows Help for "sync offline files" for more information on how to setup offline files. 476452 - Cannot enable Indexing service search for Workgroup PDM on Windows Server 2008 64-bit, Windows Server 2008 R2 64-bit, Vista 64-bit and Windows 7 64-bit operating systems – open - Until this is achieved we cannot consider Workgroup as being fully supported on Windows Server 2008. Please see KB S-054407 for manual methods to enable Indexing for the Operating systems in question. For SPR 476452 there will not be a Service Pack or future version delivered solution available for this limitation. However, SolidWorks Development and Technical Support have developed the attached instructions for a workaround which will configure these operating systems to enable the Indexing Service to work in concert with SolidWorks Workgroup PDM Search. These instructions do require changes to be made in the Window registry which should be done with caution and only by individuals comfortable with making registry edits~


Read More Add your Comment 0 comments


Solidworks Simulation Tutorial With Heat Exchanger Efficiency



Solidworks Flow Simulation can be used to study the fluid flow and heat transfer for a wide variety of engineering equipment. In this example we use Solidworks Flow Simulation to determine the efficiency of a counterflow heat exchanger and to observe the temperature and flow patterns inside of it. With Solidworks Flow Simulation the determination of heat exchanger efficiency is straightforward and by investigating the flow and temperature patterns, the design engineer can gain insight into the physical processes involved thus giving guidance for
improvements to the design.



A convenient measure of heat exchanger performance is its “efficiency” in transferring a given amount of heat from one fluid at higher temperature to another fluid at lower temperature. The efficiency can be determined if the temperatures at all flow openings are known. In Solidworks  Flow Simulation the temperatures at the fluid inlets are specified and the temperatures at the outlets can be easily determined. Heat exchanger efficiency is defined as follows:

The actual heat transfer can be calculated as either the energy lost by the hot fluid or the energy gained by the cold fluid. The maximum possible heat transfer is attained if one of the fluids was to undergo a temperature change equal to the maximum temperature difference present in the exchanger, which is the difference in the inlet temperatures of the

The goal of the project is to calculate the efficiency of the counterflow heat exchanger. Also, we will determine the average temperature of the heat exchanger central tube’s wall. The obtained wall temperature value can be further used for structural and fatigue analysis.

Open the Model Solidworks Simulation Tutorial With Heat Exchanger Efficiency

Click File, Open. In the Open dialog box, browse to the Heat Exchanger.SLDASM assembly located in the Tutorial 3 - Heat Exchanger folder and click Open (or doubleclick the assembly). Alternatively, you can drag and drop the Heat Exchanger.SLDASM file to an empty area of SolidWorks window.


Get File Pdf Solidworks Simulation Tutorial With Heat Exchanger Efficiency


Read More Add your Comment 1 comments


Boundary Conditions Solidworks Flow Simulation Tutorial



Boundary Conditions Solidworks Flow Simulation Tutorial help you learn something

A boundary condition is required anywhere fluid enters or exits the system and can be
set as a Pressure, Mass Flow, Volume Flow or Velocity.
1 In the Flow right-click the Boundary Conditions icon

Boundary Conditions Solidworks Flow Simulation Tutorial
and select Insert Boundary Condition.
Simulation Analysis Tree,






Boundary Conditions Solidworks Flow Simulation Tutorial
2 Select the inner face of the Lid <1> part as
shown. (To access the inner face, right-click
the Lid <1> in the graphics area and choose
Select Other , hover the pointer over
items in the list of items until the inner face
is highlighted, then click the left mouse
button).

Boundary Conditions Solidworks Flow Simulation Tutorial
3 Select Flow Openings and Inlet Mass Flow.







Boundary Conditions Solidworks Flow Simulation Tutorial
4 Set the Mass Flow Rate Normal to Face to 0.5 kg/s.







5 Click OK . The new Inlet Mass Flow 1 item
appears in the Flow Simulation Analysis tree.


With the definition just made, we told Flow Simulation that at this opening 0.5
kilogram of water per second is flowing into the valve. Within this dialog box we can
also specify a swirl to the flow, a non-uniform profile and time dependent properties to
the flow. The mass flow at the outlet does not need to be specified due to the
conservation of mass; mass flow in equals mass flow out. Therefore another different
condition must be specified. An outlet pressure should be used to identify this
condition.

Boundary Conditions Solidworks Flow Simulation Tutorial
6 Select the inner face of the Lid <2> part as
shown. (To access the inner face, right-click
the Lid <2> in the graphics area and choose
Select Other , hover the pointer over items
in the list of items until the inner face is
highlighted, then click the left mouse button).

7 In the Flow Simulation Analysis Tree, rightclick
the Boundary Conditions icon and
select Insert Boundary Condition.

Boundary Conditions Solidworks Flow Simulation Tutorial
Select Pressure Openings and Static Pressure.








9 Keep the defaults in Thermodynamic Parameters,
Turbulence Parameters, Boundary Layer and Options group boxes.
10 Click OK . The new Static Pressure 1 item appears in
the Flow Simulation Analysis tree.

With the definition just made, we told Flow Simulation that at this opening the fluid exits the model to an area of static atmospheric pressure. Within this dialog box we can also set time dependent properties to the pressure.



Read More Add your Comment 0 comments


Pro/ENGINEER Data with SolidWorks Tutorial



Why can’t we all just get along? Trading files back and forth is an issue that plagues engineers often. However there are some things that can alleviate the problem. Take exchanging Pro/ENGINEER parts and assemblies with SolidWorks. This works relatively well with the robust feature sets that SolidWorks offers for either handling the Pro/ENGINEER features natively as well as handling edits with explicit face manipulation.
First, let’s look at the issue of viewing Pro/ENGINEER files. SolidWorks eDrawings software, a free download, allows users to view native SolidWorks, DWG/DXF and Pro/ENGINEER parts and assemblies. If you have the eDrawings Professional package, you can also measure and markup these files, and send them to your colleagues, customers or vendors to review and markup as well. Finally, you can also download eDrawings Publisher plugins for a variety of other CAD programs, like Pro/ENGINEER so save parts, assemblies and drawings to the eDrawing file format. This publisher also works with PTC’s OneSpace Explicit modeling package (The old ME30) as well as many other CAD programs.

Once we have viewed the file in eDrawings, we can then open the file in SolidWorks for editing. SolidWorks can open the most current versions of Pro/ENGINEER Wildfire and for the latest specifics, I would encourage you to take a look the online SolidWorks help for Assembly import and Part Import. In the video embedded below, I run through several options of importing and exporting Pro/ENGINEER files with SolidWorks.
Pro/ENGINEER Data with SolidWorks Tutorial
In the first part of the video, we open the Pro/E assembly in eDrawings Professional, and mark it up to indicate a design change is needed. In this case we need to change the length of the link on a toggle clamp. Once this is identified, we open the Pro/E assembly in SolidWorks. We are presented with a dialog box asking us how we want to import the assembly.

Pro/Engineer to SolidWorks Converter

For an assembly we either have the choice of bringing in the part’s feature history or to use the BREP (boundary representation) of the parts. I choose the BREP as it is the most reliable and will bring in the most accurate representation of the solid model into SolidWorks. Plus, I get the opportunity to import mates (constraints in Pro/E). If you use the feature import, this is not a capability, however, you can import a part later with features and then replace that new part in an assembly that you have already imported.
In the following image, you will notice that the assembly comes in with all mates and material properties. Without even doing anything, it looks great. I am using SolidWorks 2011 and turned on the integrated PhotoView 360 preview and it looks fantastic, see below:

SolidWorks clamp assembly showing mates in feature tree
Here you can examine the mates and dynamically move the clamp as you would expect to to move. You can even turn on dynamic collision detection to see what the true range of motion is. Now we need to make the design change lengthen the link. Simply click on one of the links and choose “Edit Part” which allows you to change the part inside of the assembly model. Since I imported the part with no features, I will use the “Direct Editing” tools to lengthen the link. After making the direct edits to the link, and then testing the dynamic motion again I notice my range of motion is now limited and I need to change the clamp-base component, so I employ the direct edition tools again.
I should also note, that you can save out a versioned Pro/E assembly after you make your changes in SolidWorks, to share with other Pro/E users. Check out the video below for a full run-through and please add comments on your experience with this!


Read More Add your Comment 0 comments


Opening SolidWorks Simulation for the first time



By default, SolidWorks Simulation does not open when SolidWorks does. We can change this by going to Tools > Add-Ins, shown in Figure 5.



Figure 5. How to start Simulation SolidWorks .

The Add-Ins window, replicated in Figure 6, pops up. Check the box to the left of “SolidWorks Simulation” to enable Simulation in this instance of SolidWorks. If you want Simulation to be enabled every time you start SolidWorks, check the box to the right of “SolidWorks Simulation” as well. If this is your first time using Simulation, you may be asked to agree to an end-user license agreement.


Read More Add your Comment 0 comments


Conditions in SolidWorks Simulation



This Tutorial of Conditions in SolidWorks Simulation

Some common reasons for error include making invalid assumptions, setting incorrect boundary conditions, setting incorrect material properties, and general numerical errors. As an example, let’s consider the stress analysis of a typical model. One can assume a linear stress-strain relationship before the yield strength of the material is reached. The model produces incorrect results as stress or strain increase to the point of nonlinearity on the stress-strain curve.

Conditions in SolidWorks Simulation
Setting appropriate boundary conditions SolidWorks Simulation  can be more difficult than one might first expect, and it is easy to overlook boundaries (such as the initial temperature of an object). This can result in nonsensical default values being used for the simulation. Obtaining accurate physical parameters for your materials can also be difficult, especially if you are using nonstandard or unusual materials.

FEA inherently discretizes the object being studied. The number of elements used presents a tradeoff between runtime and accuracy.

(Conditions in SolidWorks Simulation)

Before you trust your FEA results, you should plan for a significant validation process. If possible, the best place to begin the validation process is with a simple model that can be solved analytically. Check that the FEA simulation produces comparable results. For example, before looking at bending in an array of bolted-together I-beams, compare the FEA results for bending in a single I-beam to analytical results. Be sure you are using the appropriate material parameters. Another important model validation technique is to compare the FEA results to an actual physical prototype using simple stimulus, such as an impulse. Beware of making claims about the FEA model results that you cannot independently support with other analysis or measurement.


Read More Add your Comment 0 comments


SolidWorks Simulation



Objectives Of SolidWorks Simulation

By completing this tutorial, you will learn to conduct finite-element analysis (FEA) tests on SolidWorks models using the Simulation add-on.

SolidWorks Simulation

Introduction SolidWorks Simulation

Finite-element analysis (FEA) is useful in predicting a model’s response to various influences such as forces, torques, periodic excitations, and heat. FEA is used to analyze large or complicated models where analytical solutions are not possible. FEA software breaks the model into thousands of small tetrahedral elements and solves numerically for each one individually.

Some of the leading commercial FEA tools include COMSOL, Ansys, and SolidWorks Simulation. This tutorial covers SolidWorks Simulation because it is a comfortable environment for those who already know 3D modeling with SolidWorks. SolidWorks Simulation is primarily applicable to mechanical and thermal models. COMSOL specializes in multiphysics problems involving interaction between mechanical, thermal, and electrical behavior. Ansys also addresses mechanical and thermal simulations and has advanced capabilities required in certain fields.

This tutorial will cover three of the simulation studies available in SolidWorks Simulation:

  1. Static analysis, for Identifying stresses caused by static loading
  2. Frequency analysis, for identifying resonant frequencies and associated mode shapes
  3. Thermal analysis, for identifying heat flow through a model
Mastering these three gives you the tools and experience necessary to make use of any of the remaining simulation studies. We will use the same model, a wine glass, for each study.

Before you begin SolidWorks Simulation

On two occasions I have been asked, “Pray, Mr. Babbage, if you put into the machine wrong figures, will the right answers come out?”...I am not able rightly to apprehend the kind of confusion of ideas that could provoke such a question.
                                        Charles Babbage, Passages from the Life of a Philosopher, 1864

Since the very beginning of computing, users have been plagued by bad outputs as a result of bad inputs. FEA is particularly prone to such problems, generating pretty pictures that often have no bearing on reality. As a general rule, if you don’t know what to expect, the results you get are probably incorrect and certainly unusable.


Read More Add your Comment 0 comments


 

Autocad Tutorial

© 2010 Solidworks Simulation Tutorial All Rights Reserved Autocad tutorial Solidworks tutorial Solidworks Simulation Tutorial